Australia map
Blue Mountains Nationalpark
Bromo Tengger Semeru Nationalpark
map Tablet und Mobile
map nur Tablet

The Blue Mountain National Park (2'470 square kilometres) is located in the west of Sydney. It includes the Three Sisters rock formation, located in the southern part of the park. The three sandstone peaks Meehni (922 m), Wimlah (918 m) and Gunnedoo (906 m) are located above the Jamison Valley, near the town of Katoomba.

The highest point within the park is Mt. Werong (1'215 m). In the year 2000 the region was placed on the World Heritage List.


Australia 1934, Captain John Macarthur.
The stamps are commemorating the centenary of the death of John Macarthur in 1934. He was a pioneer of settlement in Australia. The Australian region "Macarthur" (New South Wales) is named after him and forms geographically the foothills between the regions of the Blue Mountains and Southern Highlands.

An Australian stamp catalogue is telling that the design was created by superimposing a photo of a champion ram on a photo taken of the Blue Mountains from Macarthur's homestead site.  


Australia 1963 Blue Mountains Crossing stamp timbre Briefmarke francobolli

Australia 1963, 150th Anniversaty of Crossing the Blue Mountains.

In 1813 Gregory Blaxland, William Lawson and William Charles Wentworth explored the Blue Mountains and George Evans surveyed the route inland. In July 1814 William Cox and convicts built the road in just six months and in 1815 Governor Lachlan Macquarie travelled along the new road to the place they called Bathurst.


Australia 2001, Three Sisters rock formation.
Their names are Meehni (922 m), Wimlah (918 m), and Gunnedoo (906 m).
(water-activated and self-adhesive)
The stamp was issued in the series "International stamps – Views of Australia".


Australua 2005 Greater Blue Mountains stamp

Australia / UK 2005, Greater Blue Mountains.

An area of one million hectares of vast, ancient and spectacular national park and wilderness, dominated by temperate eucalypt forest was formally inscribed on the World Heritage List on 29 November 2000 marking the formation of the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area. 


Australia 2008 Grose River Gorge stampAustralia 2008 Grose River Gorge self-adhesive

Australia 2008, Hanging Rock in Grose River Gorge. 
(perforated/gummed & self-adhesive/die-cut)

The Hanging Rock (33°34'58.76"S 150°18'47.29"E) also known as Mount Diogenes, extraordinary rock formation protrudes 718 meters above sea level. Hanging Rock is formed from volcanic activity and is about 6.25 million years old.

The Grose River rises from north east of Mount Victoria within the Blue Mountains National Park, and flows through the Grose Valley and parts of the Greater Blue Mountains Area.


Australia Blue  Mountain Crossing stamp timbre Briefmarke francobolli

Australia 2012, Blue Montains Crossing 1813.
(engraving by Emile Ulm from Sydney Mail, 1880)
The stamp was issued in the series "Inland Explorers".


Australia 2014, Blue Mountains Nationalpark.
The stamp was issued in the series "Wilderness Australia II".

The small picture above shows the Three Sisters rock formation and Mt. Solitary (950 m) in in the background.
The picture below shows a view from the Pulpit Rock viewpoint across the Grose Valley. The rounded mountain in the background is known as Mt. Hay (944 m).


Australia 2015 "National Pass".
The National Pass is a six-kilometre-long loop walk, accessible via Conservation Hut in the village Wentworth Falls, which is located at an elevation of 867 metres on the sandstone plateau. The track was built 1906/1907 into the cliffs and offers views of the Jamison Valley, several waterfalls and the surrounding cliffs.

The stamp is existing perforated/water-activated & die–cut/self–adhesive and was issued in the series "Great Australian Walks".



Australia map