Cayambe Volcano 5'790 m

The Cayambe volcano has a permanent snowcap and is located in the Pichincha province some 70 km northeast of Quito. It is the third-highest mountain of Ecuador after Chimborazo (6'310 m) and Cotopaxi (5'897 m).

First Ascent: 1880 by Edward Whymper (English), Jean-Antoine und Louis Carrel (Italian).
Edward Whymper is well known for the first ascent of the Matterhorn in Switzerland (1865) and the Barre des Écrins in France (1864).  


 Ecuador Cayambe volcano mountain stamp coat of Arms of Canton Cayambe issued 1960

Ecuador 1960, the Coat of Arms (Canton Cayambe) shows also the Cayambe volcano.


 Ecuador Equatorial Monument near Cayambe Volcano Mountain stamp 1962

Ecuador 2002, Cayambe Volcano.