It is composed of 118 geographically dispersed islands and atolls stretching over an expanse of more than 2'000 kilometres in the South Pacific Ocean.

French Polynesia is divided into five groups of islands: the Society Islands Archipelago, composed of the Leeward Islands and the Windward Islands; the Tuamotu Archipelago; the Gambier Islands; the Marquesas Islands; and the Austral Islands.

France 2012 French Polynesia Ua Pou island stamp 2012
French Polynesia 1962

Placeholder image