The major ranges of India are the Himalaya, Karakorum, Kunlun, Shiwalik, Aravali, Patkai or Purvanchal, Vindhya and Satpura Range, Eastern Ghats and the Western Ghats.



The Himalayan Range.
The Himalayan Mountain Range, which literally means "land of snow", separates India from the rest of Asia.

The Karakorum Range.
The Karakorum is located in the region of Ladakh in Jammu and Kashmir state near the Chineese border.

The Kunlun Range.
The Kunlun range of India runs in the eastward direction along the northern part of Kashmir and the Tibetan plateau.

The Shiwalik Range.
The Shiwalik is a sub Himalayan mountain range, located on the foothills of the lower Himalayas.

The Aravali Range.
It is the oldest range in India, it runs approximately 300 miles from northeast to southwest direction across Rajasthan in western India.

The Patkai Range.
The Patkai or Purvanchal range is located in the eastern boundary of India which connects India with Myanmar.

The Vindhya Range and Satpura Range.
These two ranges run across the entire central region of India.

The Western Ghats.
The Western Ghats range runs north to south along the western edge of Deccan Plateau of India.

The Eastern Ghats.
These range stretches from West Bengal in the north, through Orissa and Andhra Pradesh to Tamil Nadu in the south.