Kamet 7'756 m

The Kamet is, after the Kangchenjunga at the India-Nepal border and Nanda Devi, the third highest mountain of India.

It is situated in the Garhwal Himal, close the border to the Tibet Autonomous Region.

First Ascent: 21.06.1931 by a British Expedition (Frank Smythe, Eric Shipton, R.L. Holdsworth and Lewa Sherpa).


India Kamet

United Nations, Vienna Office 2002, Kamet.
The stamp was issued in the series of 12 stamps "International Year of Mountains".