The Korean Peninsula
1'915 m

The Jirisan, also known as Chirisan, is a mountain range in the southern region of South Korea.

Its highest summit is known as Cheonhwangbong (1'915 m) and is within the Jirisan Nationalpark. Other major summits of the Jirisan range are the Banyabong (1'732 m), Nogodan (1'507 m) and Mt. Baraebong (1'165 m). The total area of the Jirisan Nationalpark is 471'758 square kilometres, which makes it the largest mountainous national park in Korea.

The name of Jirisan means “the mountain of the odd and wise people".

Since the ancient times, together with Seoraksan and Hallasan, Jirisan has been known as one of the three legendary mountains in Korea.


Korea South 1972 Whaom temple Chiri Jirisan stamp

Korea South 1964, Whaom temple in the Jirisan mountains.
(the stamp is existing imperforated from the souvenirsheet)

The Whaom Temple is famous not only for its size but also for the architectural beauty of the eaves bending towards the sky. In Silla Dynasty, Saint Uisang propagandized at the Whaom Temple, which was built by Yeon Kee in A.D. 544. Jirisan mountain stamp

Korea South 2005, Jirisan.

Azaleas, Mt. Baraebong 1'165 m (left) and Cheonwhangbong 1'915 m (right)
Ikki-Falls (left) and Piagol Valley (right)



Korea South 2017, Korea National Park Service 3050 Anniversary.

Korea Post issued Korea National Park Service 3050 Anniversary stamps to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the National Park system and the 30th anniversary of the Korea National Park Service. The Korea National Park Service 3050 Anniversary stamps feature a park ranger and flagship species representing the ecosystem of each national park, against the backdrop of Jirisan National Park, the first national park in Korea. The featured species are the Geumgang chorong (diamond bluebell) of Mt. Chiaksan, the Jeffersonia dubia of Mt. Gyeryongsan, the Asian black bear (moon bear) of Mt. Jirisan, the otter of Mt. Mudeungsan, the Fairy pitta of Hallyeohaesang, and the fox of Mt. Sobaeksan.